what is/are your career goals

judyp

sarNie Adult
this topic was inspired by the topic about working in the hospital setting.

please share your career goal(s) or if you've already reached your goal(s), how are you liking it and is it what you expected?

im currently in my first semester (summer) of nursing school and will be done by the end of next year. i've always known that i wanted to work in the medical field, but initially, i wanted to be like a medical admin or something along that line. i took a medical office course and then realized how much i love the hands-on aspect of the medical field. i became a certified nursing assistant (CNA) but i was focused on getting my prereqs completed for nursing school so i did not make use of my certificate. but when i was training, man, it was definitely not easy. but i loved loved it. so i finished my prereqs in 2 years and waited a year before i got into the program. i don't know how compact other nursing programs are, but i applied to like 3 diff programs; 2 were lottery based and the other was a 3-year program and was GPA based. i got into the normally 2-year program but was fortunate to get a seat because sponsorship by the hospital and will complete in 1-1/2 year. i was told that there were about 800 applicants with only 50 seats. i know, sad isn't it?

its about a month into the program and i absolutely love it. i've grown to become so passionate about nursing. my experience as a student training as a CNA is a HUGE advantage. once i officially become an RN, i do plan to continue to strive for my Bachelor's (possibly specializing in peds or women's health) and am considering doing the Master's program to become either a Pediatric or Family Nurse Practitioner. its going to be a tough ride, but i know it'll be something i'll only continue to love.

lady0fdarkness

Professional Lakorn Watcher